Thank you for your interest in joining our team!

Here are our current opportunities:                                                                            

Job Posting – Technical Specialist – Fire Safety

Type Full-time, Permanent, in Ottawa

Reports to Senior Director, Codes & Standards

About CWC

Canadian Wood Council (CWC) represents the Canadian wood products industry through a national alliance of leading industry associations. CWC’s mission is to expand market access and increase demand for Canadian wood products through codes, standards, regulations, education, and promotion. You can learn more about us and our work at www.cwc.ca.

Responsibilities

As the Technical Specialist – Fire Safety you will be responsible for strategic building code and standards initiatives; applied engineering problem-solving; developing new design tools and publications; and delivery of end products through seminars and media to targeted audiences, including engineers, architects, building officials and fire services.

Competencies

  • Ability to apply the principles and practices of fire safety engineering and/or fire protection engineering; have building code regulations and construction knowledge; and have sound engineering skills.
  • A relevant engineering degree is desired, and professional registration would be an asset.
  • A minimum of three years of experience (or equivalent) in the field of codes and standards or fire protection / fire safety engineering is preferred but more recent graduates will be considered.

Important Skills

To be a successful member of the Codes and Engineering team.

  • Strong Microsoft computer skills
  • Strong communication skills both written and oral in English, the ability to work in French would be an asset.

Working at CWC

This is a full‐time position located in Ottawa. You will be required to travel within North America and potentially internationally. We offer a competitive salary, commensurate with experience, a comprehensive benefit package including medical, dental, and a defined contribution pension plan.

Interested in Applying?

At CWC we are committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion. We celebrate it within our team and believe that our different backgrounds and experiences make us stronger. With every person we hire, we aim to add to a culture where everyone is valued, and all employees can grow in our team-oriented organization.

Interested candidates should apply in confidence to [email protected] by November 13, 2022

We sincerely thank all applicants for their interest but only those under consideration will be contacted

Merci de votre intérêt à vous joindre à notre équipe!

Offre d’emploi : spécialiste technique – Sécurité incendie

Poste permanent à temps plein à Ottawa

Le titulaire du poste relèvera du directeur principal, Codes et Normes

À propos du CCB

Le Conseil canadien du bois (CCB) représente l’industrie des produits du bois par l’entremise d’une alliance nationale des plus importantes associations d’entreprises du secteur. La mission du CCB consiste à favoriser l’accès aux marchés et à accroître la demande de produits du bois canadiens au moyen de codes, de normes, de règlements et de l’éducation. Pour en savoir plus sur nous et notre travail, visitez www.cwc.ca.

Responsabilités

Le spécialiste technique – Sécurité incendie sera responsable d’initiatives stratégiques concernant : les normes et le code du bâtiment; la résolution de problèmes en ingénierie appliquée; le développement d’outils de conception et de la production des publications; la présentation des produits finaux par l’entremise de séminaires et d’événements médiatiques destinés à des publics cibles, notamment des ingénieurs, des architectes, des directeurs de la construction et des représentants de services d’incendie.

Compétences

  • Le candidat idéal doit être en mesure d’appliquer les principes et pratiques de la technique de la sécurité incendie ou de la protection incendie; posséder une bonne connaissance des codes et règlements sur la construction et les bâtiments; posséder de solides compétences en ingénierie.
  • Un diplôme en ingénierie est exigé; une accréditation professionnelle est considérée comme un atout.
  • Une expérience d’au moins trois ans (ou l’équivalent) dans le domaine des codes et des normes ou de l’ingénierie de la protection incendie et de la sécurité incendie est préférable, mais la candidature des personnes récemment diplômées sera aussi prise en considération.

Compétences importantes

Capacité à contribuer efficacement aux activités de l’équipe Codes et ingénierie.

  • Solides compétences dans l’utilisation de la suite logicielle Microsoft.
  • Solides aptitudes en communication écrite et orale en anglais. La capacité à travailler en français sera considérée comme un atout.

Travailler au CCB

Il s’agit d’un poste à temps plein situé à Ontario. Vous devrez voyager en Amérique du Nord et éventuellement à l’étranger. Nous offrons un salaire concurrentiel proportionnel à votre expérience et une série complète d’avantages qui comprend une assurance médicale et dentaire et un régime de retraite à contribution déterminée.

Vous souhaitez poser votre candidature?

Au CCB, nous prônons l’équité, la diversité et de l’inclusion. Nous les célébrons au sein de notre équipe et pensons que nos différents parcours et expériences nous rendent plus forts. Chaque personne que nous recrutons vient enrichir notre culture d’entreprise où chacun est apprécié et où tous les employés peuvent s’épanouir dans un environnement axé sur le travail d’équipe.

Les personnes intéressées sont invitées à envoyer leur candidature en toute confidentialité à [email protected] d’ici le 13 novembre 2022.

Nous remercions tous ceux et celles qui poseront leur candidature, mais seuls les candidats retenus seront contactés.