Celebrating Excellence in Wood Architecture & Construction

We are pleased to open our Call for Entries and invite North American and International submissions to the 2024 Wood Design and Building Awards program Celebrating excellence in wood architecture.

Entries should showcase the use of wood products in any, or several, of their many forms and applications. Entries should also demonstrate an understanding of the special properties of wood including strength, durability, beauty, and cost-effectiveness.

Any project completed between January 1st, 2021 and May 31, 2024 is eligible for entry [except previous winning projects of the Wood Design & Building Awards].

A jury of prominent architects from Canada and the U.S. will review all entries based on considerations such as creativity, appropriate use of wood materials, satisfying clients’ requirements, meeting specific building and site requirements, and innovative design.

Honor, Merit, and Citation awards will be given at the discretion of the jury. Winners will receive a custom wood trophy recognizing the achievement and also:

  • be announced in a press release and on social media
  • receive a feature profile on the Wood Innovation Network
  • be showcased in a video available on our website
  • profiled at WoodWorks events across Canada
  • be featured in Wood Design & Building Magazine (digital)

Entry Fee


  • First Entry – $175.00 USD
  • Subsequent Entries – $165.00 USD

Deadline for Submissions: June 30, 2024 at midnight PST


1. Non-residential

The Non-residential Category includes offices, shopping centers, restaurants, stores, churches, motels, hotels, schools, libraries, recreational buildings, fire halls, medical clinics, hospitals, storage facilities, research laboratories, factories and warehouses.

2. Residential

The Residential Category includes single-family detached dwellings and multi-family projects such as duplexes, garden homes, apartments, condominiums, dormitories, affordable housing and seniors’ residences. 

3. Adaptive Reuse, Additions, and Renovations

The Adaptive Reuse, Additions, and Renovations Category includes modifications to an existing structure. The principal building might not have to be wood but any alterations must be of wood construction to be eligible.

4. International Building

The International Building Category includes buildings of every type that were constructed outside of North America.

5. Other – Exterior Structures, Bridges etc.

Special Awards

Sustainable Forestry Initiative

SFI Award

Presented to a project (either residential or non-residential) that utilizes products certified to the SFI standard. 


Real Cedar Award

Presented to a project (either residential or non-residential) that utilizes real cedar products.


Sansin Award

Presented to a project that utilizes Sansin products for wood finishing

Wood Preservation Canada

WPC Award

Presented to a project that utilizes pressure treated wood products.

Wood Works

WoodWorks Award

Canadian projects that were built in BC, AB, SK, MB, ON or YK in the past three (3) years will be automatically submitted in the designated regional category (British-Columbia, Prairies, Ontario).

For more information please contact Ioana Lazea: [email protected]

Be inspired by the 2022 Wood Design & Building Awards Recipients